Evangeline2

Evangeline Alvarez-Encabo, MA

Evangeline is an experienced language and cultural program director, speaker, and trainer. She has taught Filipino courses locally and internationally, participating at the SEAMEO Regional Language Center in Singapore and in the Advanced Filipino Abroad Program, a Fulbright project with the U.S. Department of Education, University of Hawaii-Manoa and DLSU.

Her papers have been presented in international conferences like the Filipino as a Global Language Conference at the University of Hawaii-Manoa, at the University of San Diego, and to the International Conference on Southeast Asian Languages at the University of California.

She trained in Los Angeles, California, Houston, Texas, and Atlanta, Georgia during a workshop by the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development. She is currently a faculty member of De La Salle University Manila’s Department of Filipino and is completing her PhD in Filipino Studies.

Explore Classes

Filipino Intermediate Level I (8 weeks) by Evangeline Alvarez-Encabo, MA

Intermediate Filipino

This course focuses on the correct way of expressing ideas rather than on the grammatical aspects of the language being studied. The students will learn the words, sentences and expressions in the context of Filipino experience in different scenarios such as greetings, asking for directions, snacks and delicacies, taking the public transport, folk beliefs, and festivals.  However, even though the course focuses on the communicative needs of the students, it did not in any way neglect the study of vocabulary, basic grammar and things related to Filipino culture.

What This Class Covers

The prepared module was composed of: a) listening to dialogues or articles about the specific theme being studied; b) vocabulary; c) comprehension; d) pronunciation and reading; e) grammar lesson; and f) understanding the culture.  This is also infused with developmental activities on the four macro skills for language students.

Time and Date of Class

February 7, 14, 21, 28 and March 7, 14, 21 and 28, Sundays, 5:00 to 6:30 PM, 7:00 PM Australia Same Day, 1:00 PM Dubai Same Day, 10:00 AM London Same Day, 5:00 PM Singapore Same Day

January 23, 30, February 6, 13, 20, 27, March 6 and 13, Saturdays – 5:00 PM California Time, 8:00 PM New York, 3:00 PM Hawaii/9:00 AM Manila the next day

Manila Time is 8:00 AM, March 21, 28, April 4, 11, 18, 25, May 2 and 9. California Time is 5:00 PM and 8:00 PM New York, March 20, 27, April 3, 10, 17, 24, May 1 and 8

Manila 10:00 AM (April 2, 9, 16, 23, 30, May 7, 14 and 21). California 7:00 PM and New York 10:00 PM (April 1, 8, 15, 22, 29, May 6, 13 and 20)

Manila Time is 8:00 AM, May 9, 16, 23, 30, June 6, 13, 20 and 27. California Time (5:00 PM) and New York (8:00 PM), May 8, 15, 22, 29, June 5, 12, 19 and 26

Manila 10:00 AM (June 4, 11, 18, 25, July 2, 9, 16 and 23). California 7:00 PM and New York 10:00 PM (June 3, 10, 17, 24, July 1, 8, 15 and 22)

Manila Time is 8:00 AM, July 4, 11, 18, 25 and August 1, 8, 15, 22. California Time (5:00 PM) and New York (8:00 PM) July 3, 10, 24, 31, August 7, 14, 21

Book Now

Filipino Language for Beginners (6 Weeks) by Evangeline Alvarez-Encabo, MA

Survival Filipino for Beginners

The course is a basic Filipino language-training program which provides students a one-of-a-kind opportunity to acquire the linguistic foundation necessary to engage in common conversation and cultural interaction.  This aims to teach the students the survival Filipino which is the first step for a higher level of learning the Filipino language and culture. The lessons prepared for the program are based on thematic and content with ascending levels of difficulty.

What This Class Covers

Since this program focuses on the everyday usage of the words, sentences and expressions in the context of Filipino experience, it utilizes situational paradigm where vocabularies and expressions for different scenarios, such as introducing self and others, family activities, people in the community, asking for directions, buying, etc., are encountered.

Time and Date of Class

February 6, 13, 20, 27, March 6 and 13, Saturdays, Manila 5:00 to 6:30 PM, 7:00 PM Australia Same Day, 1:00 PM Dubai Same Day, 10:00 AM London Same Day, 5:00 PM Singapore Same Day

January 23, January 30, February 6, 13, 20 and 27 3:00 PM Saturdays California Time, 6:00 PM New York, 1:00 PM Hawaii/7:00 AM Manila the next day

Manila Time: (6:00 AM, March 21, 28, April 4, 11, 18 and 25) California Time is 3:00 PM and 6:00 PM in New York, March 20, 27, April 3, 10, 17 and 24.

Manila 8:00 AM (April 2, 9, 16, 23, 30, May 7). California 5:00 PM and New York 8:00 PM (April 1, 8, 15, 22, 29 and May 6)

Manila Time ( 6:00 AM, May 9, 16, 23, 30 and June 6, 13) California Time: 3:00 PM and 6:00 PM in New York May 8, 15, 22, 29 and June 5, 12.

Manila 8:00 AM (June 4, 11, 18, 25, July 2 and 9). California 5:00 PM and 8:00 PM New York (June 3, 10, 18, 24, July 1 and 8)

Manila Time 6:00 AM, July 4, 11, 18, 25 and August 1 and 8. California Time is 3:00 PM and 6:00 PM in New York (July 3, 10, 17, 24, 31 and August 7)

 

Book Now